REVIEW: Scam #1

“Fool Me Once”

Story: Joe Mulvey
Art: Joe Mulvey
Publisher: Comix Tribe

“It’s better to die a conman than live like a mark.”

What happens when a master con artist out cons the people he’s working with? You get a typical con goes after con for revenge story. Yes. But what happens when you throw in a twist that I didn’t see coming until it happened? You have to read this first issue of this new series from writer/artist Joe Mulvey to find out – I’m not going to spoil it for you.

This first issue opens two years in the past as a group of people are preparing to break in to a facility to steal something. The job goes bad and everyone is left to make a break for it as the cops are on the scene.  The “hows” and “whys” are explained pretty early on in this issue what happens to a degree because we’re left wondering the ultimate reason why.  That alone hooked me early into this issue because I’m all about motivation and why characters do what they do.  I am more aware of this in comic books because a writer only has so many pages in an issue to get the story across that they want to tell and hook the reader. As I said, we get some ideas of the “hows” and “whys” but I have that itch in my brain that’s telling me there’s more to it.

The story moves to the present day where Mulvey brings the reader up to date where the characters are and what their ultimate goals are now that they are getting the band back together. Without giving anything away, all of this ties directly to how this book opened and the fallout of what’s happened over the past two years with where some of the characters have landed in the fallout. How’s that for vague?! Either way, Mulvey gets readers up to speed but doesn’t slow the story’s pace at all. There is a nice and steady flow to this issue’s storytelling that really kept me engaged and flipping to the next page wanting to see what’s next.

The art in this issue that Mulvey also does is top notch. I have seen a bit of Mulvey’s work in the past on his Deviant Art page so I knew going in that I was going to like the art, but what I got in this issue was above and beyond what I thought I’d see. I have always had a great appreciation for someone that provides both the writing and the art of a comic book. Scam is Mulvey’s baby and he’s coming out guns blazing with the art and really taking advantage of it to move the story along visually as well as narratively. The coloring in this issue is striking. There is a series of scenes with the character named “Doc” that the colors pop off the page and really put you into the scene.

Scam #1 is a solid first issue for Joe Mulvey and a book that will be overlooked by a lot of people because of its low print run and that’s a shame. I think this book is one that could find a good fan base if given more exposure and attention.  That being said, Mulvey and his publisher Comix Tribe have been amazing to watch as they have pushed this book to retailers.  It has been a lot of fun, and very educational for me as a comic book fan to see this book take shape and come to this point. If you’re interested in picking up this book in a second or third printing, head over to this book’s official site at http://whatsthescam.net/.

Story: 4 out of 5 | Art: 5 out of 5 | Overall: 4.5 out of 5

3 comments on “REVIEW: Scam #1

  1. Thanks for taking the time to review SCAM #1, Chris! It’s been a pleasure working with Joe to help get this book out there. He’s a true talent, and a hell of an advocate for comics.

    We’re going to do our best to make sure SCAM is available for any comic fan who wants it, but are thrilled to support retailers who are willing to go out on a limb for an indie title.

    • That’s great to hear, Tyler! I’m looking forward to following along with this book for as long as Joe has stories. And if I’ve got to order it off of the site – so be it! If I’ve got to read it digitally – so be it! I’m just glad to be reading this book.

Leave a Reply

