REVIEW: Buffy, The Vampire Slayer #9

Slayer, Interrupted

Script: Andrew Chambliss
Pencils: Karl Moline
Inks: Andy Owens
Colors: Michelle Madsen
Letters: Richard Starkings and Comicraft’s Jimmy Betancourt

“You are not the Slayer!”

Buffy, The Vampire Slayer continues to be one of those books that I’m surprised I’m reading. I’ve stated a number of times that I have never watched a full episode of the television series and really was not a fan of the movie (but who was, really). I have found myself reading the comic book series off and on, but even that has been a bit of a struggle for me because it is always on that outside ring of titles that I know I’ll drop once cash gets tight and I need to cut back. But not this time. Here we are, five issues in to Season 9 and I’m as enthralled about this issue as I was the first issue of the series, if not more.

This issue is where I feel the heart of Season 9 really starts. The first four issues were more about everyone getting their feet on some sort of solid ground after the events of Season 8. While some “stuff” happened, this issue is really where we start moving forward and seeing a longer story being developed, and I really want to see where things play out.

Andrew Chambliss hits the ground running with this issue and you know what’s happening has to be a dream, but still there’s a sense of excitement and wonder of what will happen and if what happened really happened – even if for a split moment. Chambliss moves further in to the issue and into things that long time Buffy fans may have a better idea of what is happening, but I never feel lost or like I’m someone on the outside looking in. Chambliss explains things well enough and quickly enough that I never felt taken out of the story, or overwhelmed with narration. It was just right.

Karl Moline, Andy Owens, and Michelle Madsen do a really good job with this issue’s art chores. When you’re working with characters that are base off of real people you’re always wondering how photo realistic will the art be in the book. Moline really doesn’t over render anyone. You know who the characters are because of the character – not the actors, and you move on. The art in this issue is solid and the whole art team really compliments one another well.

The ending of this issue really has me wanting more, as I’m sure it does for everyone who reads it. I want a book to pull me in, make me care about the characters, and then do something to them that makes me want to know what’s next. Chambliss does that so well with this issue and I’m on board for a long time to come. If you’ve been curious about this book, jump in with this issue and give it a shot!

Story: 4 out of 5 | Art: 4 out of 5 | Overall: 4 out of 5

Leave a comment